Enrichment of Experience….Must See TV errr Web Video

I found out today that I get to chat with a Business Week reporter on Monday about 3Di.

Being a Web 2.0 kinda dude – and since I cant sleep anyway – I decided to see what I could find out about Aili McConnon before we got to talk next week. I do this all the time. The web is such a cool way to find a hook/meme or something in common between parties that quickly allows the synchronous connection to move to co-creation of insight.

My last post was about the power of Web 2.0. When I read the work (and watched the interviews) from Aili and her colleagues, I immediately sent it to two of my pals whom I knew would be very interested in their work.

Moreover, I now know so much more about where Aili is coming from our conversation will be all the richer. In this new world of information overload and attention defecit, Informaiton is the currency, people are the transport mechanism, conversation is the transfer mechanism and insight is the value exchange. As John Seely Brown so eloquently put it, Information does indeed have a social life and Web 2.0 just makes it happen faster. As Larry Prusak would say Knowledge Management is an oxymoron because you should not focus on managing “stocks” of information but instead we should be doing all we can enable its “flow” thereby creating knowlege accidents that generate value.

Also, because I think the research that Aili and her colleagues have done is so cool, I am so excited about the fact that we get to talk next week. This goes back to my notion that hardcore Web 2.0 people essentially become hardcore lifelong learners by default. The only adjustment here, for clarity, is that life-long learning is also every-moment learning in the Web 2.0 world.

Imagine a frictionless and distance-free environment powered by Web 2.0/Semantic Web/3Di that enables folks who are passionate about what they do to automagically connect with with people who have a need (i.e. willing to pay for) for exactly what those people are passionate about. This is the ultimate virtuous cycle. Could we really be on the cusp of something this big? Service Orient Architectures componentize social web services enable Mash Ups that make this value connection on an ongoing basis based on: where people are, what they are doing and the profile of who they are and what they like driving what is rendered up in that very same space.

Who knows? When I read SnowCrash 10 years ago after Dorothy Leonard Barton decreed at a PDMA conference that this is a book you must read… I said to myself “That is such a cool notion….too bad I’ll be dead when the Metaverse becomes a reality.”

Boy was I off-base on the time scale here. I did survive a 100-mile an hour head on collision in my early twenties…but barring that here I am at 40 spending more and more time in the Metaverse, and hopefully I have at least half my life still ahead of me. I won’t go back into Ruben Steiger’s funny story about his chat with Neal about Second Life being the Metaverse….but I will say that the arrival of the Metaverse within my own lifetime is a very welcome surprise.

Anyway, I digress (a byproduct of ADD).

Aili and her colleagues have a truly fascinating study that correlates with my own hypothesis that Avatar-Mediated Interaction enables an Enrichment of Experience. The creation of an experience that is not only near-real life or even augmented-virtual-reality but…plain-and-simply an experience that is different and than one you could ever experience in real life and by going through it you learn more about you own self and those around you.

All I can say is….check out Aili and her colleagues’ fine work for yourself. It is a great intro to SL in general…and more importantly it sets up a lot of questions about the yet-to-be grokked possibilities for avatar-mediated interaction.

BTW, even though the title is “Dating and Mating in Secondlife,” rest assured that there is nothing whatsoever in this video that I would deem to be offensive. It is simply an enlightening conversation between the researchers/journalists where they very discuss their findings.

Too tired now to figure out how embed this particular video into my page.

Just click here and then click on video. It is only one additional click…go ahead click….one more time…..click…now that was not so bad was it? ; )

Web 2.0 and Personal Learning Environments (PLEs)

Crazy week this week. First I was sick as a dog with some crazy bug where I could hang on during the day but at night I would get this killer sore throat that kept me up all night in bad pain. That would be OK except that this week I had to be in NY and Boston all in the one week.

Anyway enough about me and my woes. Onto the good stuff….

I was fortunate enough to be asked to contribute at the e-Learning Guild in two different forums this week:

null

Tony Karrer, hoodwinked Brent Schelenker, Steven Downes and yours truly to talk about Web 2.0 (and a bit of 3D) meets Corporate Learning — or if that is not what it was he wanted us to talk about it is certainly where it went.

I’ve known Tony for a while….and I am a big fan of both Steven and Brent’s via daily reading of their Blogs. I think because of this, we were kinda able to get right into it and riff because we each knew where each other stood and we got to take the conversation into the generative learning and co-creation stage very quickly.

This is also one of the coolest things about Web 2.0 that we talked about on the panel. First and foremost Steven made the point that your approach as an educator should not be “OK let me figure out what blogs, wikis, social tagging, You Tube, Second Life and Moodle mean for my learning strategy or my learners.” Instead Steven suggests you start in the most obvious place…Where might that be? you ask…Why YOU and your own learning of course Steven says.

Time is on the same channel here:

First, get an account on blogger and start to converse publically. This is step one in what Steven calls your Personal Learning Environment (PLE). BTW Jay Cross is on a similar trip here and both Steven and Jay acknowledge they have not Grokked the solution but they are equally passionate about the idea.

We then got into….once you start with a blog, (Hello WordPress/Blogger) your learning starts to take off. You start to get motivated to want to find a tool that helps make your space more conversational and co-creative/crowsourced in terms of production/interpretation of content/ideas (Hello Wiki). You then want to throw in some pictures (Hello Flickr/OFoto) and inevitibely want to find (or create) audio (Hello Odeo) and video (Hello Jumpcut, Eyespot and YouTube/Google Video) that further emphasize your point. You then want to take all these different piece parts together into a single place that is just for you (Hello MySpace….oh that is so yesterday why not build it out in 3D in Secondlife)…and suddenly you start to understand that we have finally tipped on a number of fronts:

    Web services meets Web 2.0 which means that it becomes easier for people (not just programmers to be prosumers)
    Centrally Created Content/Control moves towards User Generated Content/Sharing
    Content is king but Context is the Kingdom
    Power on all levels is moving towards the consumer (kinda like banks with ATMs only about everything) but consumers are also becoming producers.
    Consumption moves towards Prosumption

In double-looping on this I ponder….Is it just me or did you notice that either Google or Yahoo is snapping everything up this food chain. So Rupert did interrupt the cycle and Cisco did Buy WEBEX…but how ’bout the 3D space. If you think about it 2D interactive platforms that have aggregated eyeballs (either Myspace in the Consumer space or Webex in the Corporate space) are, IMHO, all going to end up in the 3D space. All you gotta do is look at what is going on in Korea with CyWorld to see that. And Korea is the place to look to as they are the leading adopters in this space as it was with DoCoMo in mobile many years ago in Japan.

Anyway enough about that. Those of you who are either digital natives and just do this or digital immigrants like me who work like the dickens to live/learn/work this way know that the learning (and responsibility to contribute..which is why I am sitting here exhausted on a Friday night but feeling the need to share) is so poweful that it literally changes the game.

Keep a watch on Jay and Steven to see where they go next on PLEs…it is good stuff.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers